What’s new in Formula 1 for 2019?

Everything you need to know about the 2019 Formula 1 season, including the key dates to save for your diary. The new challengers hit the track at winter testing in Barcelona in less than two weeks and the lights go out in the season-opening race in Melbourne on March 17.

Get closer to Formula 1 in 2019 with an Official Ticket Package from F1 Experiences!

2019 f1 drivers


It’s all change on the driver front in 2019. Just two teams – Mercedes and Haas – retain the same driver line up as 2018. Several talented rookies will also join the grid and two drivers are set to make unlikely comebacks. Read all about the twenty drivers who will contest the Championship this year: Meet the 2019 Formula 1 Grid.


The same ten teams will contest the Constructors’ Championship in 2019, but two of them will be competing under a different name. Last week, it was announced that Sauber will be rebadged as Alfa Romeo Racing for 2019, extending a sponsorship agreement that came into force one year ago. After ownership of the team changed hands during the summer break last year, Force India has now been official renamed as the Racing Point F1 Team. Just one major change is taking place on the engine front; Red Bull Racing swaps Renault power for Honda in what is set to be a make or break season for both the Austrian team and the Japanese car giant.

2019 f1 season

Car Launches

Here are the details of the new car launches already announced:

  • TBC: Williams
  • 7 February: Haas (livery reveal online)
  • 11 February: Toro Rosso (online launch)
  • 12 February: Renault (factory launch at Enstone in the UK)
  • 13 February: Mercedes (online reveal + private shakedown at Silverstone)
  • 13 February: Red Bull (details TBC)
  • 13 February: Racing Point (launching at Canadian International AutoShow in Canada)
  • 14 February: McLaren (launching on Valentine’s Day at McLaren Technology Centre)
  • 15 February: Ferrari (factory launch at Maranello, Italy)
  • 18 February: Alfa Romeo (launching on first morning of testing in Barcelona)

Formula 1 pre-season testing

Winter Testing

Two 4-Day tests will take place ahead of the new season at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, the home of the Spanish Grand Prix. For the first time ever, live TV coverage will be available on F1 TV Pro. All ten teams will be in action:

  • Test 1: 18-21 February
  • Test 2: 26 February – 1 March

2019 Formula 1 Calendar

The 2019 calendar features the same 21 races as last year. Eleven races will be held in Europe, five in Asia, four in the Americas and one in Australia. The season kicks off in Australia on 17 March and concludes at Yas Marina on 1 December, with a four-week summer break between the races in Hungary and Belgium. All Formula 1 session times for 2019 have also been published. Here’s the 2019 F1 calendar in full:

*F1 Experiences does not currently offer Official Ticket Packages for the Singapore Grand Prix or Brazilian Grand Prix.

Regulation Changes

As Formula 1 debates significant technical changes ahead of the 2021 season, some important initial steps are being taken in 2019 in an attempt to make a more competitive grid, including simplified front and rear wings, updated barge boards and brake ducts. The fuel allowance for races has also been increased from 105kg to 110kg to allow the drivers to push harder for the entire race, while other changes (biometric gloves, stronger crash helmet requirements) are designed to improve safety.  A full roundup of the technical changes for 2019 can be found here.